Honored Contributor

Re: Dan Hughes degree in college

@Kachina624 wrote:

On the rare occasion that I watch a few minutes of Dan, he drives me nuts.  Every guest is his good, old friend from years ago.  I find him to be very insincere and don't trust anything he says.

As for the archeology,  you've got to major in something.  There are millions of people who majored in something and never used it.

@Kachina624, I find his constant faux male self-deprecation to be like nails on a chalkboard. I don't watch often, but every single time I happen to catch him hosting, he performs that schtick.

~Who in the world am I? Ah, that's the great puzzle~ Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland
Valued Contributor

I enjoy Dan Hughes and enjoy watching him.  I have been doing so for over 20 years.  Very entertaining and informative.  Enough said.

Esteemed Contributor

I also enjoy Dan's presentations!   He is so down to earth and seems to be such a nice man.  Yes, his jokes are almost funny, but he does know his products. 

He has been on QVC for along time and I am sure that he is good friends with most of the vendors!!!    I much prefer him to some of the female vendors!!

Highlighted
Respected Contributor

@zitawins

ITA: the major forces you to immerse yourself deeply into a subject area.  The discipline and application / interpretation help develop your strengths which can then be used in every area you choose to become involved.

I majored in French literature and went on to a Master's degree while working in corporate management for a major communication / technology corporation.  They underwrote the majority of the advanced degree.  

Never did I use the foreign language per se; however, the ability to write clearly and the ability to make presentations in my native language were enhanced by my major.

I also taught leadership and communication skills at the college level.

Today, I wonder what I would major in given all the diverse areas of possible expertise !