Respected Contributor

Ours is open but I haven't been in person for years - download all my Kindle and audiobooks from the web. DH likes books he can touch so he goes to the Friends of the Library bookstore and buys them cheap.

Trusted Contributor

We have seven libraries in our city and all of them are open. They are offering cubside pickup of materials and have a limited capacity inside.

Respected Contributor

Some BrooklynNYbranches open for returns and picking

up holds.

I just love my internet Brooklyn library, worth my tax$

That's' what I use extensively.

Respected Contributor

Ours was curb side.

Valued Contributor

Our local libraries offer curbside which has been great. Unfortunately the city where I live had to lay-off some employees during the pandemic including some at the library and parks & rec.

I am a retired librarian and have many friends working in this county and the adjoining county in California.  It's been very challenging as librarians had to determine what safety measures they needed to adopt to be able to even circulate books.  One colleague works at a library that was open to the public but with limited services.  With the latest spike in cases they have closed and are doing curbside service only.   

The loss of local tax revenue due to the pandemic may impact services such as libraries for a long time to come.  When the economy revives post pandemic there can be a lag in the recovery of local funds.  If the vaccines are effective and widely available I still think we will experience a gradual recovery over many months.  It will take time for people to be vaccinated and to see virus cases begin to go down and society reopening.  Support your local libraries!

Honored Contributor

Our libraries are now online and requests can be picked up without in-person contact.

Honored Contributor

@MW in Iowa wrote: