Respected Contributor

Re: Pet Food Safety

[ Edited ]

So sorry, but it is true.  I have known this since I was in college in the 1970's.  I got my degree in Animal Science, and took many courses in dietary formulation for all species of farm animal.  There are ingredients in all animal diets that would gag you.  If you have horses, cows, or sheep, for instance, I invite you to look at a bag of any kind of sweet feed, usually a mix of grains and pellets that are bound together with molasses and other ingredients.  If you see an ingredient in the list on the tag that says "mill run", I will tell you EXACTLY what that is.  At the end of every day, a feed mill cleans up the mill area, they sweep up all the spilled grain, mud or dried plant material or manure that fell off the boots of anyone who walked through the plant, any dead rodents, bird feathers or poop, spilled food from their own lunches, or anything else on the floor, and they sweep it into the bin with the last of the grain, soybean meal and other stuff that's in that last bit of material being ground up and mixed with molasses and put into any combination bagged feed.  It adds weight and is cheap, and the livestock eats it because it's sweet.  And that's just livestock feed!  Remember Mad Cow Disease?  That is spread from dead animals to live ones because dead animals are rendered into meat and bone meal, mixed into livestock feed or pet food, and fed back to live animals.  If you see meat and bone meal in your pet's diet, I will tell you EXACTLY what can go into that, too!  Meat and bone meal, or meat meal that is NOT for human consumption can and does contain what is called 4-D meat, defined as meat from diseased, dying, dead and decayed (yes, I said DECAYED) meat.  That is where the road kill comes in.  Or if a farm animal dies and the farm owner cannot dispose of the carcasse they can call a disposal service truck from a rendering plant who comes and picks up the dead body and halls it away.  Sometimes