Honored Contributor

POLL: BEST UNSCENTED CAT LITTER?

[ Edited ]

I know we've discussed this before, but since old threads tend to get poofed, I'm starting a new one.  Unscented only.   I would appreciate any kitty owner's iput and experience here.....

My favorite cat litter has been dropped by Walmart and the only times I've found it have the price is jacked up more than 800%, so I'm starting from scratch to research.  (I'd been using a mix of 2/3 World's Best and 1/3 Mimi Litter, but the Mimi Litter is no longer available).  

Anyway, I've been in a few stores, reading labels, and am a bit fuzzy on the variations.   Tidy Cat  has several types, but the labels all seem to claim pretty much the same thing with the only difference being weight of package.   With Arm & Hammer, you can't always tell on the box whether the litter has a scent or not.   Fresh Step has several types, but I have no experience with this brand.  Open to other brands.

I've also googled a couple "best rated unscented litter"  searches, but find odd contradictions.  

So ........    what feedback can you offer?   The good, the bad, and the ugly  (waste of money) .....   

TIA!

Tink  

Honored Contributor

Re: POLL: BEST UNSCENTED CAT LITTER?

I used to use Sweat Scoop but stopped because for some reason something changed and I was constantly having a film of orangish dust everywhere.

Ever since I've used World's Best (Unscented) Multi-Cat.  Have had very good luck with it and I get it at Petco, having them match the online price (which is always better).  For a while they offered free shipping on it, but that's gone now.

I tried Lightweight Fresh Step, when Petco did a free bag of it to Rewards customers.  I hated it.  HATED it.  It tracked everywhere and just seemed to cling to their paws and fur.

I also will never used clay litter (check for bentonite; lethal to cats, if they ingest it).

Best of luck finding something new.

Respected Contributor