Respected Contributor

Re: New owner of a Papillon!

@furbabylover   Thank you.  I got my bachellor's degree in Animal Sciences 40 years ago, but the nutrition courses I took focused on feeding cows, pigs, sheep, horses and even chickens can be applied to dogs and cats as well.  I learned to read the ingredient label on a sack of horse feed  after visiting the on campus feed mill the first time.  The man who ran that mill showed us all the machinery and how things got bagged up and sewn shut and all, and then gave us all a sample of a feed sack label and asked us what was in the food.  Most of us did pretty good until we got down to the bottom and found the term "mill run".  Nobody knew what that meant.  So the man took a broom and swept up the dust, stray kernels of grain, mud that had fallen off our boots, mouse or rat or bird droppings, everything that was laying on the floor, into a pile, pointed to it and told us "THAT is mill run.  If you wouldn't eat it yourself, do you want your livestock to eat it?"  There was a resounding NO from all of us students, and after that we were told "Now you know why you need to learn how to read a feed label."  So when I tell people to make sure that what they are feeding their dogs and cats does not contain "meat meal" or "meat and bone meal", it's because I know what those ingredients contain!  (You don't want to know, it's bad!)