Frequent Contributor

Re: Getting dog to eat pumpkin and sweet potatoes

No reason he has to eat it. Just a couple of pounds overweight and I see lots of post about digs eating this. So I guess I just thought he NEEDED it. Will try all your suggestions. Thanks fir your help. 

Respected Contributor

I don't know about dogs, but I mix a bit with canned cat food for 2 of my cats. Third one won't eat it. I started giving it to my male because he had such bad diarrea. My mom heard about it on the news. Anyhow, after a couple weeks, it cleared up. I've been feeding them pumpkin for about 7 or 8 years now.

Honored Contributor

@D Kay wrote:

Why does your dog have to eat either one?   My dog happens to love both, but unless your vet recommended them for some reason,  I wouldn't worry about.  Some of the dog foods/treats out there now have sweet potatoes made into them.

@D Kay   It keeps a male's an-l glands clean.  If one has a dog groomed once a month, that is done at the groomer's, but I bathe mine, so I don't have to deal with them as long as he eats the yams/sweet potatoes, and he has been since a year old.

Honored Contributor

@gillsburg  Mix it with a jar of meat baby food.

Esteemed Contributor

Not one of my guys would go near it.

Respected Contributor

I buy organic pumpkin puree...it helps my older Maltese poop. Just maybe 1/4 teaspoon. When I cook for them, I'll add 1/2 can to about 1 lb ground meat with rice or Pasta...only doing that for Teaspoon. But lately she doesn't want it, so i had to add the pumpkin to her dog food...she seemed a little constipated, so pumpkin is helping.
Regular Contributor

@gillsburg wrote:

No reason he has to eat it. Just a couple of pounds overweight and I see lots of post about digs eating this. So I guess I just thought he NEEDED it. Will try all your suggestions. Thanks fir your help.