Honored Contributor

I've been fostering with collie rescue since 2003.  I've seen a lot of dogs go through my house.  I was sad to see some go; could hardly wait for others to leave.  I kept one but have adopted other fosters dogs.  I now have 4 rescues, two are very old.

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Respected Contributor

I would love to foster a greyhound - but I KNOW I would end up adopting and right now my hands are full with my two dogs.  I have a friend who has fostered over a hundred in her lifetime, along with dozens of foster children.  I get kuddos to anyone who can do it.  I know my sister-in-law fostered children and it broke her heart when she had to give them up. 

Honored Contributor

I used to foster Cavalier King Charles Spaniel for a couple of different rescue groups.  I ended up adopting three of them at various times.  It was really hard to give them up.   The way I could give them up would be to realize that I didn't have room to foster more if I kept them.  Foster homes are really needed.

When I was fostering I had three dogs and three cats at one point. I had a hard time affording all the pets.  Now I only have one dog, partly because of budget and partly because I'm getting older.

The Bluebird Carries The Sky On His Back"
-Henry David Thoreau

Regular Contributor