Esteemed Contributor

Cat Owners - Sifting Litter Pans

I'm thinking of switching my cats (I have three kitties) regular litter pans, to the kind that you sift and use pellets.

I have found that I can buy a 40 pound bag of pine pellets for horse stalls, for like $6!

That is a considerable savings over buying 40 pounds of clay litter.

Have you found the box to be any "smellier" with the pine pellets?

Any tip, tricks and/or advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

The Sky looks different when you have someone you love up there.
Valued Contributor

Re: Cat Owners - Sifting Litter Pans

I use a system that was recommended by several folks on YouT~be. I highly recommend that you go over and take a look. I have been using their system for about six months now and I love it! No, it doesn't smell any worse than clay litters, but it is so much more convenient, cheaper, less dust, and less tracking. They use pine pellets that you use in horse stalls, etc.  So much cheaper than pine litter. Works beautifully.

Trusted Contributor

Neither of my cats accepted the change over to those products. I tried to transition them using pellets and clumping litter in a regular litter box until I could reduce the clay content and use only pellets to switch to the sifting type box.  

No luck. The cats hated the pellets. They were not happy with the "digging" feel and wanted to bury their waste and couldn't get adapted. My investment wound up being turned over to another cat household. Cats can be very fussy with their litter box habits. Mine hated pine scent and the feel of the pellets on their paws.

Both my cats were about  10 years old and maybe if they were younger they might have been better about the change. They misbehaved by rejecting use of the litter box and made mess elsewhere. As soon as I restored what they had, clumping litter, they resumed good habits. Charming!