Honored Contributor

Re: Adopting a dog is a frustrating process

I've been working with a collie rescue group for over 15 years.  Our group has always tried to qualify as many adopters as possible rather than try to eliminate potential adopters.  I myself have adopted many dogs from breed rescues, including Collies, Shelties and Australian shepherds.  At present I have 3, a purebred Sheltie, a mini Aussie now known as a miniature American shepherd, and  a mutt that was rescued from a municipal shelter in El Paso just because she was an exceptionally nice dog.

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Super Contributor

[ Edited ]

@C in MA- I'm sorry you're having such a hard time with the rescues you've been in contact with. I've only ever dealt with two and wasn't able to adopt from either. First group only handled smaller dogs and when I told them I had an English Setter I was told they'd never adopt one of their dogs to a home with such a large dog. The dog I was interested in was about 30 pounds and my setter was 45 pounds and the sweetest, most submissive dog I've ever had ... but they didn't care about that. The second rescue sent someone to do a home inspection. They guy told me everything looked great and then told me not to get my hopes up because he'd been volunteering with the group for almost a year and, to his knowledge, they'd never adopted a dog out. Sure enough, I never heard back from anyone with that group.

I have, however, adopted many dogs over the years from local shelters -so I highly recommend you give them a try. In my experience, they have mixed breeds and just about any purebred dog you'd want ... and the process is much easier.

I know everyone encourages adopting shelter and rescue dogs, but if that doesn't work out for you in your area - don't hesitate to contact breeders.  My current crew consists of 3 shelter dogs and 2 dogs from a breeder ... love them all.

Good luck in your search.

Edited to include: