Honored Contributor

Re: Nick Chavez - What he said RE: Conditioner

One thing I don't do is SCRUB my scalp...with anything. Seems when I did scrub using a shampoo brush, I saw more hair in the drain and in my brush. Now I go easy with just fingertip massaging, no fingernails digging in and I see less hair falling out...good thing! A hair saved today is a hair on my head tomorrow.

Valued Contributor

My big question which was not addressed is....is his thickening and plumping shampoo color safe?

Respected Contributor

I use conditioner about every 3rd or 4th time I shampoo.  I use it as my FIRST STEP and then shampoo it out.  That has always worked best for me.  I've been doing it for about 15-20 years.

Respected Contributor

@Effie54 wrote:

@Shanus wrote:

@SloopJohnB wrote:

@SandGirl  Hmm, interesting.  I always thought the reason was the conditioner directly on the scalp would contribute to making your hair oily or greasy faster.  I didn't realize it was related to thinning hair.  I will have to try that method.  

@SloopJohnB   Some hair thinning is expected after menapause and may continue as we get older. Male pattern baldness (from your mother's side, not father's) also plays a big part in hair thinning. 

There are also issues like kepping hair in rubber bnds and in a taught ponytail, even in a scrunchie, if too often..."stress hair loss", brushing while wet, hair dye, bleaching, etc. 

You can inherit the male pattern baldness gene from your father as well. It's not just from the mother's side. 

Absolutely right.  This has proven true in my own family.

Honored Contributor

@1Professor wrote:

@SandGirl   Chaz Dean says the same thing with WEN. Mid-shaft to ends only with conditioner.

@1Professor   Aren't the WEN cleansers actually conditioners...Cleansing Conditioners?

Honored Contributor

@Drythe wrote:

@Shanus wrote