Respected Contributor

@Growing wrote:

Let me also say that I help people redo their resumes to include the proper key words to fit into the computer algorithm that is set up by HR for each job. If the resume is not laid out right in plain format, the computer can't read it. If you don't use the key words pertaining to that career field (found in the job description plus others), then the computer puts that application in the no file. So it can be hard to get interviews. I have a master's degree and I helped many newer graduates redo their resumes in our field. I've helped a lot of people and this is just a volunteer gig I do as a service to people. But the old style of doing a resume is a no and many people don't realize they have to fit the keywords so the algorithm matches them to the job. And they have to be brief and to the point on the cover letter and resume. Applying to jobs one doesn't qualify for is also a no but many people say just apply and see what happens. Employers are inundated with resumes from unqualified people and mostly these go into the no pile. Employers are also looking to hire someone they DON'T have to train. For those of us older people, we were always hired in and trained on the job. Nowdays, they want someone who had already done the job or most parts of the job. So a young person may need to get skills at a lower level job first. If you have a college degree you are told how wonderful this is and will lead to great jobs. But the young person has no skills and no experience and so has great difficulty finding a suitable job. 

@Growing @This is so interesting regarding the resumes, I had no idea. I am going to pass this along to a person I know who is looking.

Respected Contributor

@panda1234 wrote: