Esteemed Contributor

Need Car Seat Rec for 4.5 Year Old

Hello Everyone,

Though this is my first time here, I've been with QVC since '89.  My husband and I decided that the car seat my daughter purchased for us to use with our granddaughter is a real pain in the neck and needs to be replaced.

You're going to want to know what we have now, but my husband just drove off with the chair in the car and I haven't a clue.  I can only tell you that it's all black, except for a red part near the top and a really dumb strap tongue that sticks out of the front-bottom of the seat, which you're supposed to pull out to secure the entire strap unit.  To release this strap, you're supposed to be able to reach down into the upholstery of the seat and find a button to push.  Thing is...the bottom doesn't work very well.

Anyway, we want a seat that does not have a strap that sticks out of the bottom that you have to yank and yank on to secure the entire strap unit with the darn button that rarely works.  There must be a manufacturer that has engineered a better seat. 

The remainder of the strap and locking mechanism we now deal with has 4 metal  seat belt type things which one jams into various slots.  Two different buttons release these, with much difficulty.

What frightens me about this seat would be my inability to remove my granddaughter quickly should we need to evacuate the car for some reason.  She is a virtual prisoner in this darn seat.

Thank you for reading this tome.  Any recommendations you can provide will be so very welcome.  Thank you so much in advance!

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Need Car Seat Rec for 4.5 Year Old

At 4 1/2 how much does she weigh?  Does she need a carseat or a booster seat?  Once you have determined that research on Amazon (best seller is a good tip).  Read the specs and the reviews, order appropriate seat on Prime (you'll have it in two days).

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]