Respected Contributor

my only concern is that I'm old enough to remember when the hospitals used Physophex on newborns heads until they discovered it caused brain damage. I would be hesitant to use anything on an elderly person's head that can change permanent hair dye. I'm not saying it hasn't been recommended by doctors, I just would be a little hesitant.

Never underestimate the power of kindness.
Contributor
I also have used Dawn original scent for fleas on my elderly
cat . I have sensitive skin & it used it I my my scalp
as clarifying in between coloring .
It probably has less chemicals than some expensive
shampoos . Check out the ingredients of shampoos, scary all the chemicals in shampoos, even sulfate free.
Honored Contributor

Re: Dawn Dish soap

[ Edited ]

@sneef wrote:

If anyone suffers from scaly, crusty scalp. I am a nurse at a nursing home and we have found the Dawn that is blue the one they show in a commercial that shows them cleaning birds that are effected by oil spills. Our residents hair is shampoo between 1 or 2 times and all the scaly, crusty issues disappear. It is amazing and gentle on there hair. Just thought I would share this info so if you know of people with this issue it may help them.

I hope you have patients' and families' permission.  I'd be pretty ticked if Dawn was used on my mom without first talking to Dad or me.  Scalps can be pretty sensitive in the elderly and Dawn is a harsh product.  There are products on the market that address this scalp problem.

That said, I use Dawn for all kinds of things.  Mix with vinegar and it's a great weed killer.  Mix with lemon juice and it'll make your tub sparkle.  etc etc.

Esteemed Contributor

There is a reason that dawn is used for dishes. I would not use this product on nursing home residents. JMHO.

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor

@CalminHeart wrote:

@sneef wrote: