Respected Contributor

Placement marks on ivory top.....fyi

Today I received the extremely gasp-worthy ivory top with black lace applique on the sleeves, A347453.  I quickly tried it on for fit, loved it, LOVED it, and later got it out to try on properly with slim black pants and play with some jewelry  to make it more dressy or casual. 

I glanced down at the lace and to my dismay saw a raspberry colored blob on the ivory sleeve and then the thin line of raspberry marker used to position the lace for placement/sewing. 

I was horrified, then checked the other sleeve and there was a bright pinky-red fine line there too.  I immediately thought of return/exchange, but wondered if another would have the same issue?

Then I settled down and said to myself that I am a pro at this textile marking and there are three main ways to remove marks and one of them might work here, worth trying before I decide to return.

The first type of marker is one  that will disappear in 24 hours.  Obviously this was on there longer, and not gone.  Check that one off my list.

Second type is water soluble - so I dabbed a little cool filtered water with a Q tip on the line and waited, but nothing happened.  It didn't bleed and run, so that was good, but didn't budge either.

Third type is heat reactive.  I turned on my iron to the low setting, no steam, and gently used the tip to touch the mark, and voila!  It disappeared before my eyes.  I quickly removed the marks on both sleeves, steamed the top and it is pristine and perfect.

There are also some pens for fabric marking that that have ink that disappears if you freeze the garment/item.  And some that can be erased with special erasers.

I did the tests in that order because if you apply heat to a water soluble mark it will actually set it in permanently, so I was very careful in my tests.