Honored Contributor

When you invite guests for a meal....

[ Edited ]

..... how do you determine what time to tell them to arrive?

For instance, if I know we'll be eating at 3 pm, I will tell my guests that we'll be eating at 3 pm, please arrive around 2 pm.  Of course I always have appetizers or snacky things so no one starves to death on my watch.  I am an organized cook, so the meal is usually ready within minutes of when I planned.

I do understand there are extenuating circumstances, but so often, like yesterday, we were asked to arrive around noon. The host knew I was bringing a hot dish.  My grown son was also invited, and although he had a busy day planned, he accepted out of respect for our hosts, because he was appreciative of their thoughtful invitation.  

We arrived about 12:30 and my son arrived around 12:45.  The host served some crackers and artichoke dip, but there was nothing else to be had until after 3 o'clock when dinner was served.

I know that this post is likely to make me sound ungrateful.  I'm sorry if it sounds that way. We love these people and we had a warm, friendly Christmas Day together.  However, this is not the first time this sort of thing has happened to us. My brother and his wife, as well as my BIL and his wife, have often held us captive for several hours, waiting for dinner or the birthday cake for our nieces and nephews. 

Is there a rule of etiquette for this? 

~ house cat ~
Esteemed Contributor

Re: When you invite guests for a meal....

Wow, I have never been held captive waiting for a meal.  Even by my BIL.

Honored Contributor

@Still Raining wrote:

Wow, I have never been held captive waiting for a meal.  Even by my BIL.

I used the term "held captive", but of course we were free to leave. However, after waiting several hours with squirrely, cranky children of our own, it would be very rude to leave before a meal was served or before celebrating the birthday to which we were invited.