Trusted Contributor

I have never used one before. Any suggestions or tips I should know??

TIA

Boop

Respected Contributor

Read the manual and google cooking times for different meats and veggies.

Honored Contributor

I got my first convection oven a year or two ago and it's so great! I basically use it for the same things that I would previously use my big oven for - well, the stuff that's 13x9" or smaller.

One thing that I find, for me anyway (I have the Calphalon XL Digital Convection Oven) is that I can use a temp slightly lower and for slightly less time. It's easy to figure out what works for you and I imagine every convection oven might be different.

I chose the Calphalon because I read too many problems about the other main brand getting way too hot on the outside and just not heating as evenly. The spot I had planned was in the corner of one of my counters UNDER some cabinets so I wanted to make sure that it was built well and not cause damage.

But it's basically just like baking in an oven only a little more efficient. I don't know if yours is a countertop convection oven, or a full-size oven convection oven. I imagine a full-size one works even MORE efficiently so I'd watch things to see if the temp seems too high or it needs to come out sooner. Smiley Happy

Super Contributor

I've read that you need to drop temp by 25 degrees. I do that in my Breville and it works great. This is my only experience with convection.

Trusted Contributor

Things will cook differently in a convection oven or on a convection setting, than they will in a regular oven.

You will hear a fan turn on, and it speeds up the baking time. I have a toaster oven that also cooks on a convection setting, and it cooks one-third faster at that setting.

You have to just watch the cooking time for your baked items or your meats, etc. to see how they are doing when you are cooking at the convection setting.

Frequent Contributor