Frequent Contributor

Re: Kitchen facelift - I hired a decorator for the first time in my life.

Congratulations on having your kitchen remodeled! We had the kitchen at our lake house remodeled almost two years ago and hired a designer. She was wonderful and I have never been sorry. We put in Quartz counters, Cambria Laneshaw to be exact. Absolutely love it! Most weekends our four children are there, with spouses and children for the married ones. Holiday weekends we have about 18 people staying over. In other words, the kitchen gets a lot of use! The Quartz holds up very well. I am careful about hot things, but that is just the way I was brought up. Good luck and enjoy the experience!
Trusted Contributor

A good kitchen designer is worth her weight in gold! I am a retired residential designer, and when the time came to do the kitchen in our restored historic district home, I hired a professional kitchen designer. Kitchen design is a very specialized field. And there is a very small margin of error with those tight spaces. Hope you just love and enjoy your new kitchen!

Super Contributor

On 1/24/2015 Barbara in Virginia said:

A good kitchen designer is worth her weight in gold! I am a retired residential designer, and when the time came to do the kitchen in our restored historic district home, I hired a professional kitchen designer. Kitchen design is a very specialized field. And there is a very small margin of error with those tight spaces. Hope you just love and enjoy your new kitchen!