Honored Contributor

How Does Your Cooking Differ From What You Grew Up With?

I grew up with sometimes having rabbit or squirrel for breakfast.
Fresh vegetables were brought in from a huge garden for dinner. There were plates of tomatoes, cucumbers, and spring onions but we didn't eat a lot of salads.
We ate a lot of beef because we raised grain fed beef.

Today, we eat a lot more chicken and fish. I do more roasts and use a crock pot. I serve vegetable, fruit, and pasta salads. I also cook a lot of different vegetables.
Bread was in the form of cornbread usually.

I don't keep a pie or cake on the counter.
Esteemed Contributor

Re: How Does Your Cooking Differ From What You Grew Up With?

The biggest difference? My mom really, really cooked well. I’d give anything in the world to eat her food again. Me? I’m a terrible cook. I mean really bad. I never learned to cook and my food is just all around bad. 

Honored Contributor

My mother cooked meat, potato and vegetable every night.  Now, I rarely eat meat.  I like chicken, seafood and ethnic foods.

Honored Contributor

My parents bought halves of beef for the freezer.  I rarely eat beef now, preferring chicken.  My mom never fried anything and I too, am not a lover of fried food.  She did cook seafood which I dislike...sister and I used to slip oysters to the cat.

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Honored Contributor

My mother was a very basic cook, she cooked every thing on the stove top, fried chicken, breaded pork chops, spaghetti and meat balls or meat sauce. My Dad said she didn't know how to boil water when they got married, I think she was a decent cook for someone who did not like to cook. I love to cook and will try any recipe at least once and I love to bake. Now that my husband and I are seniors and alone, we really don't eat that much, but I still enjoy making soup and stews and baking fresh bread.

Respected Contributor