Honored Contributor

Do you ever find yourself preparing a less-than-healtful meal, just because it's easier?

Anyone can cook tasty, fattening food, but cooking tasty healthy food is a lot trickier.

Do you agree with me?

I thought I was a good cook.  

I can practically cook a meal in my sleep, but since starting the Whole 30 program - no gluten, no grains, no dairy, no added sugar - It's been a real challenge to make meals that my husband will also enjoy.

I got a lot of good ideas here on the forum, and no shortage of them on the Internet, but I'm finding it a lot harder to cook healthful meals than less healthful ones.

Do you ever find yourself preparing a less-than-healtful meal, just because it's easier?

~ house cat ~
Honored Contributor

Re: Do you ever find yourself preparing a less-than-healtful meal, just because it's easier?

@house_cat, I don't think we want to do that anymore. We try and be careful since we know it's better to use our heads and eat what's good for us since it's easier in the long run to spend our money on good food, than a bottle of pills or the doctor's office. It's a choice.

Esteemed Contributor

Re: Do you ever find yourself preparing a less-than-healtful meal, just because it's easier?

Absolutely! 

I just heated up two frozen eggrolls.  I ate an apple while I was waiting.

Last week I made a huge fresh salad.  Neither one of us touched it. I threw away the entire thing.

@house_cat  I wouldn't even attempt the Whole 30 Program.  I hope it works for you.  I barely got through reading the description. LOL

Honored Contributor

My goal is to simply cook the food that will be eaten.   I hate wasting food, and therefore always run my ideas by my family first.   An unhealthy meal that everyone will eat, wins out every time against a healthier meal that winds up in the trash.    

Respected Contributor

I don't, I cook what I feel like eating, from very boring grilled cheese to elaborate meals that take all day.

~~