Valued Contributor

Advice on yeast and flour for bread maker please

Now that I've decided to go ahead and keep my Cuisinart bread maker, I'm looking for advice on which type of yeast and flour to buy. According to the manual, I can use active dry or bread machine yeast. What's the difference between the two, and is one better to use than the other? Also, I was planning to buy, as suggested in the manual, unbleached all-purpose flour, but would it be better to buy bread flour? Thanks for any help and suggestions you can offer (as you might be able to deduce, I am a complete novice when it comes to making bread).

Respected Contributor

Re: Advice on yeast and flour for bread maker please

Congratulations on using your bread machine! Homemade bread is delicious, I dislike store bought so much.

I have always used Bread Flour, but I'm sure all purpose works. Bread flour contains more gluten. I also used Bread Machine Yeast, the granules and keep in the fridge. 

I have a small Zojirushi that makes a 1lb loaf, I'm single so there's less waste. It's delicious. Please let us know how it goes, it's super easy and once you have your own, no more store bought bread. Yummy!

Esteemed Contributor

I'm using Fleischmans Instant Dry yeast and bread flour, in the Breadman.

I like the loaf better with bread flour, though the all purpose is cheaper - neither is incredibly pricey so I quit splitting hairs.

In my machine, the yeast measurement is different for 'active' or 'instant' vs bread machine yeast, so that would be something to look at.  A pound of Fleischmans ran me $9 and change and I keep it in a lock n lock in the fridge, taking out only the amount I need for a few minutes, to bring it to room temp.  I'm sure either works.

With a loaf of bread going for $3-$4 I love my bread machine (plus it is YUMMY).  The house smells so good!

Cogito ergo sum
Respected Contributor

[ Edited ]