Trusted Contributor

Should this ring be considered defective?

[ Edited ]

I mostly order jewelry from QVC but lately I am tired of returning items that really don't truthfully or fully match the item description. For instance, I recently received an "as is" sterling diamonique simulated tanzanite ring. The online photos of the ring showed deeply saturated purple/blue stones but when I received it, the stones were very, very pale and washed out.  I know "as is" means it may not be in perfect, like new condition. But this is different. Shouldn't the item look like the photo? Does anyone know if this ring would be considered defective and as such, if I returned it, all the shipping charges would be refunded to me? I feel QVC's return policy really could be clearer. I appreciate your thoughts.

Regular Contributor

Re: Would this be ring considered defective?

I’m not an expert but tanzanite is a pale blue stone. It’s not a deep blue purple color. I don’t know if this helps.

Valued Contributor

Re: Should this ring be considered defective?

It doesn't read as defective in your description. Defective to me is- chipped stone,loose mounting,dented metal, etc. You just did n't care for the color of the stones and it didn't appear as pictured. Ask a rep. for help in your return/shipping charges.

Highlighted
Honored Contributor

@KrissyE.  Cheap, poor quality tanzanite is a pale color.  Good quality, which youll never see on a shopping channel, is deeply saturated with color like a dark amethyst.  The OP received a manufactured stone which tells me the whole batch should have been the same color.  I'd return it with an explanation and hope they'll accept it as defective.

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Honored Contributor

@Harvard99-

I would ask for shipping to be credited to you because I think of that as more like false advertising.

They are showing a beautiful saturated color on tv and in photos, it should be that way with the ones they are sending.