Respected Contributor

Re: Jared, Kay, Zales -- Closing Stores

I was at the mall yesterday.

Our malls are still busy, especially in the summer when it’s 110 degrees outside.

I don’t know how these jewelry stores have survived this long. There never anyone in their stores.

Respected Contributor

@RetRN wrote:

I've been noticing for several years now that women are wearing less jewelry, especially the younger ladies.  I've noticed it alot on TV, Maria Bartiromo wears brooches but I see almost no jewelry on the other ladies. 

Maria wears very nice jewelry often. I see long Van Cliff necklaces on her. Jeanine Pirro wears very nice sets of jewelry , beautiful rings!

Super Contributor

@Caaareful Shopper This took me by surprise. I'm going to Jared's for years.

Frequent Contributor

I don't know if this is an underlying factor or not, but I recently read an article (in an online newspaper...can't remember which oneSmiley Frustrated...- may have been the NY Times and am running out the door now, so I don't have time to research, which had an EXTENSIVE article on a MAJOR sex discrimination/bias case against Sterling Jewelers (I can't recall if it has been settled as of today's date).

There may have been smaller lawsuits over the years which have been settled.  This suit alleges that hundreds of women experienced equal pay and promotions discrimination.... as well as (mainly years back--80's to mid 2000's) women who were even sexually assaulted!! Seems that there were many stores (over the various brands) that the culture of sexual harrassment was prevalent. In this particular case, there were plaintiffs referring to even the CEO and his sexual affairs....Woman Sad.

Esteemed Contributor