Honored Contributor

CHECKED PTR JEWELRY CREDENTIALS

As a fellow jeweler, I was quite interested in PTR's jewelry background. When he held up the book KABRA, I researched and found the jewelry company still exists in Manhattan. It seems to be a lot of tools, pre/made base metal and other metal pieces. It does say they do some custom work. PTR's name is not mentioned. Maybe this company purchased his parent's company and changed the name. 

I'm "iffy" about the types of enamel work they do (i.e. the enamel material itself). 

They also seem to have equipment to do molds and casting for other jewelers (which is a business on its own). I'm wondering how much original design work PTR does himself.

When pieces are "cast", a drawing is made, then a mold. From there the pieces are mass produced. The Q shows him filing a piece (finish work) at a jeweler' bench. His designs are limited to the "vine" theme so I'm thinking there are limited castings involved and maybe limited experience. Rarely does the jeweler take a piece from drawing design, to mold to casting to finishing....especially if not one of a kind. There are many craftspeople involved.

Honored Contributor

Re: CHECKED PTR JEWELRY CREDENTIALS

@Shanus wrote:

As a fellow jeweler, I was quite interested in PTR's jewelry background. When he held up the book KABRA, I researched and found the jewelry company still exists in Manhattan. It seems to be a lot of tools, pre/made base metal and other metal pieces. It does say they do some custom work. PTR's name is not mentioned. Maybe this company purchased his parent's company and changed the name. 

I'm "iffy" about the types of enamel work they do (i.e. the enamel material itself). 

They also seem to have equipment to do molds and casting for other jewelers (which is a business on its own). I'm wondering how much original design work PTR does himself.