Valued Contributor

Re: Barbara Bixby Horoscope Cuff

I own her original skull ring and love it.

Her pieces are very unique and obviously not suited for everyone but for me, Barbara Bixby's jewelry is extremely well made, using the finest of metals and stones.  She is a very talented artist and hand draws each design.  She is old school when it comes to designing, where so many designers, be them jewelry or fashion, resort to the aid of a computer.

Actually, occult mean "hidden or secret", and there's nothing sinister in that.  Her pieces are inspired by ancient cultures and spirituality that honor nature and her creations.  She is accurate when describing the symbolism behind them, as in the skull.  (housing the mind that equates with wisdom and the higher self)  Either you like skulls or you don't.  It doesn't take away from how well she executes each piece utilizing precious metals and stones.

My background is in art and design and, in my opinion, Barbara Bixby's jewelry prices reflect the intensive labor and materials used, as well as for her art. 

I'm happy QVC brings a wide range of products that all of us can enjoy.

~ To Know, To Dare, To Will, To Remain Silent ~
Esteemed Contributor

Some of her jewelry is pretty but, her  prices have gotten too high for what you get & I don’t care for the skulls & bones ... much to occult & morbid 😳😳

Valued Contributor

@January121 wrote:

Some of her jewelry is pretty but, her  prices have gotten too high for what you get & I don’t care for the skulls & bones ... much to occult & morbid 😳😳

Where does Barbara Bixby use bones?  I've never seen any bones in her jewelry.

I guess I just don't understand how one or two pieces that are beautiful crystal and stone skulls, in her entire line of nature pieces, illustrate a morbid theme. 

Respected Contributor