Occasional Visitor

Artisan Jewelry--11/20/16 ---To Peyton

What ever happned to Suarti and Dominique Dinuart, also , Novica artisan jewlery. I really miss that segment , and also I could always get it with easy pay.!!!!!!   These were beautiful items I really am surprized that they eliminated it  !!!!!

Respected Contributor

Re: Artisan Jewelry--11/20/16 ---To Peyton

I so agree with you!  I have several pieces from Suarti, Dominique and Novica.  i still wear them to this day.  

Honored Contributor

I too wish they would bring back more artisan jewelry, it doesn't have to be designer either. I know they consider the Israeli jewelry artisan and of course so do I and I love it, but it's not like the work from Bali, Thailand and India.

Honored Contributor

I wish they'd bring back the Jill Bauer sterling silver shows!   Heart

Honored Contributor

I'm a jewelry designer/silversmith.  A lot of silver jewelry is being made in Japan, Mexico and China....mass produced. This drives the prices down on artisan jewelry you're referring to and one of a kind pieces like I design for galleries. It's difficult for me to sell a pr. of silver earrings (even if you'll never see another pair like them) for $250 when you can purchase sterling silver earrings made in other countries for $50 and under. I'm sure the artisans that have been on the Q are feeling the "pinch" as well. Another point to consider is the "status factor". People love designer silver jewelry w/ recognizable designs and status names like John Hardy, Yurman, etc. They don't call us "STARVING ARTISTS" for nothing!

Honored Contributor