Trusted Contributor

Re: ? about counter top material

@wildlifewitch  I have quartz as well, glad I went for it.

Respected Contributor

When I replaced the laminate countertops in my kitchen about 4-5 years ago, i went with quartz: Silestone-Lagoon, & I love it.  It has the look of Carrera marble, but not the upkeep.

Honored Contributor

@violann wrote:

BIG problem in my kitchen- the cabinetry is high quality and I wouldn’t want to replace it,  BUT, the counters are a really sad Formica, and they are INSTALLED within wood trim, so to replace the surfaces, all of the tops must be totally removed, a whole lot of mess for not a lot of gain. 

I’ve been brooding about this since Spring 2016.......

Also, I DESPISE SOFFITS, and I want them to be GONE, and DH, who really IS a great guy, just curls up like a little hedge hog and ignores me.......

My house has soffits.  We built our home, so I know that there is plumbing behind them.  There is no way they can be removed. Do you know what's behind yours?

Personally, I know that the builders of today do not use soffits because they are more work and more money to install.  It is cheaper to just float cabinets on the walls.  If I had my preference, I would install customer made extra tall cabinets that go to the ceiling.  That's a great finished look.

Honored Contributor

@wildlifewitch wrote:

@wagirl Quartz all day long. Granite needs to be selaed once  a year. Quartz is durable and needs no maintenance. I have dark counters that do show messes, but it makes me keep them clean. The lighter ones can hide kitty paws, so I like dark. Good luck and sorry about your house and the tree.

My granite was professionally sealed by the stone cutters told it and it will never need sealed again.  They told me the sealer would last a lifetime, and so far it has.  I have granite in my kitchen and in two baths.