Honored Contributor

I found 2 nice cabinets and a media cabinet.  They say "assembly" required -- looked at the directions definitely not for me..I'm not good at that!

I see Wayfair offers for $99 assembly.

I have never shopped either site -- is everything furniture unassembled??

Thank you🙂

Honored Contributor

That's what these stores and many others specialize in, KD (knock down) furniture.  Easy to ship. Many larger towns have businesses that will do assembly.  Call an independent hardware store and see if they know of anyone.  I've assembled some pretty complex pieces.  It's not difficult.

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Esteemed Contributor

At those etailers and b & m stores like Ikea, yep. Assembly required. 

I've done it in the past but don't be surprised when hardware or fasteners are missing and holes don't align and you need to redrill. 

The new thing I'm aware of is the fastener kit that secures your piece to a wall using anchors. It keeps the piece stable from  tipping over when a drawer or door is opened. 

I'll save up my pennies for a quality piece from my local Amish guy. 

Valued Contributor

DH ordered 2 chairs from there a few years ago (in spite of me saying "noooooooo").  I knew he wouldn't like the chairs, so after he assembled one, he decided he didn't like it. Shocking, ha ha. It wasn't difficult to assemble. The pain was packing it back up to return. That was putting 5 lbs in a 3 lb bag! 

Honored Contributor

"Assembly Required" is a huge NO for me.   I tried it a couple times when I was younger, but even then, the parts were too awkward and heavy for me to handle.   (I'm 4'10"....and don't have a long reach or much leverage).

♥Surface of the Sun♥
Esteemed Contributor