Super Contributor

Re: Opinions Please -- Keep the Parquet or Replace?

I vote replace.
Respected Contributor

If you have the budget to replace the parquet with real wood floors, I would do so.

Honored Contributor

On 7/2/2014 Marsha2003 said:

If you have the budget to replace the parquet with real wood floors, I would do so.

Parquet from the era the OPs house was built is real wood. She stated hers are oak

Don't Change Your Authenticity for Approval
Respected Contributor

I was a real estate broker for several years and nothing would turn off a client like parquet flooring. People today want houses to look new even though they aren't. So, if it's in the budget, replace the parquet and get real hardwood flooring.

Honored Contributor

I happen to love wood parquet. My only reservation would be whether it might be preferable for the whole house to either be one or the other... especially if the rooms are open to each other or are closely proximate.

In my pantry with my cupcakes...
Honored Contributor

On 7/2/2014 di-mc said:

I was a real estate broker for several years and nothing would turn off a client like parquet flooring. People today want houses to look new even though they aren't. So, if it's in the budget, replace the parquet and get real hardwood flooring.

Probably makes sense, but if the OP just bought in 2012, resale is probably not a top priority.

In my pantry with my cupcakes...
Contributor

I had seriously considered buying a used home once that had parquet throughout the entire house. I loved it but did not plan to keep it in its current stain color if the sale went through. My plans were to significantly darken it a deep dark brown, almost black.