Honored Contributor

My Rowenta Powerglide iron is leaking like crazy.

[ Edited ]

I rarely iron, two times a year tops.  So today I'm bored and figure I'd tackle that pile of spring tops waiting to be ironed.  Filled the iron with distilled water and it immediately started steaming water out the bottom, lots of it.  Tipping it on its heel produced brown water out the back end.  I always empty this thing before putting it away, but its home is in a high humidity laundry room. Obviously something is corroded and leaking.  Is there any fix or do I just deep six this thing?  This is the first time it has happened in several years.  I loved this iron but hate to spend the money to replace it if it will happen again 

Honored Contributor

Re: My Rowenta Powerglide iron is leaking like crazy.

Wish I could help you, but I've never had good luck with Rowenta irons.  I've been using my cheapie Black & Decker for a few years now.  

Trusted Contributor

@Krimpette wrote:

Wish I could help you, but I've never had good luck with Rowenta irons.  I've been using my cheapie Black & Decker for a few years now.  

Same with me.

I had three Rowentas.  All started leaking eventually, makes me wonder what I was thinking to keep trying them.

I bought a cheap Black and Decker from Amazon as a backup iron when I was still nursing along the last Rowenta.

When that last Rowenta was impossible, I just used the B&Decker, thinking I'd try another higher end iron when I got around to it.  But that was 2 or 3 years ago, now, and this iron seems to be fine.

It doesn't leak at all.

Esteemed Contributor

I've loved my Rowenta -- it sounds like (and this probably isn't the answer) you don't have the dial set correctly on STEAM.  If the machine isn't told to make steam - it can't and the water just stays as water.