Honored Contributor

Messy Kitchen is just what I need

While looking at some floor plans, I saw an optional feature called "messy kitchen". An internet search explained that the downside of open concept homes is that all the kitchen prep mess is on display. A popular feature is to include a small prep kitchen adjacent to the actual one. Boy, would that be up my alley - I'm a very messy cook and could use a messy kitchen. I'd gladly give up a walk-in pantry for a small extra kitchen.

Honored Contributor

Re: Messy Kitchen is just what I need

@AuntG Sign me up!  I have so much 'stuff' on my counters....well to say it's messy is an understatement.

It's OK because I seldom cook anyway, so......

Respected Contributor

That is exactly why I don't like open concept.  It looks great, until your kitchen is covered in dirty dishes and dish towels.  I went to a nice dinner at a home that had open concept, and as we were eating, all I could think of was "oh, there's the refridgerator" and "there's the dish the pasta was cooked in".  I like more formal.

-- pro-aging --

Rochester, New York
Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

No, no, no... Not for me... I don't want to have to maintain two kitchens... Just give me one with plenty of storage and that isn't open to the whole house... I'd also note, having an eat-in kitchen is fine, as long as there's another dining alternative...

In my pantry with my cupcakes...
Esteemed Contributor

Talk about the tail wagging the dog!

I have an eat-in "country kitchen", within walls except for an entry to the dining room, center hall, and step-down den (which leads to the garage).  I love it.

I'm a pretty organized cook but I like the feeling of privacy I have while doing my thing in the kitchen.

Cogito ergo sum
Super Contributor