Trusted Contributor
Thinking of retirement move (5yrs out) and watching Boise Boys HGTV got me to research the area. Not much snow (18 in. yr) or rain and 200 sunny days. Low housing cost and taxes. What are the best areas and what are negatives. Thanks
Valued Contributor

My advice for anyone looking to move somewhere new is to definitely check out the cost of living but also search to see if your favorite shopping locations are present, then check to see if they have libraries, museums, symphony, etc. I’ve always feltt a healthy community can be measured by its commerce and art appreciation. For me, these two aspects really contribute to the vibrancy of the community. 

Frequent Contributor

My family moved to Boise when I was a freshman in high school. We loved it there. It has grown considerably since I lived there but according to friends who still live there it is still a great place to live. Although I love living near Seattle I will always carry a little piece of Idaho in my heart. Definitely check it out.

Valued Contributor

I haven't been on these boards much of late, but I just signed in because I plan to order the LeCreuset pan tomorrow. I saw this post and wanted to respond to it.

My husband and I retired to the Boise area (Meridian) six years ago. Left the cold winters and muggy summers of Iowa behind. Absolutely love Boise!

Here are some positives:

1. Safe friendly metropolitan area.

2. Incredibly low cost for utilities. My gas bill is never above $25.00 and my electric bill, even in the heat of summer, seldom tops $50.

3. Summers can be hot during the day, but cool off nicely at night.

4. Most of the winters are mild, with just a little snow to make things pretty.

5. Within easy driving distance of mountain scenery, lakes, skiing, winter sports.

6. Housing costs, though rising, are still affordale for many.

7. Good infrastructure, highways, schools, services.

8. Most major retailers are here (Still waiting for IKEA!)