Honored Contributor

Duvet cover OVER comforter question

[ Edited ]

There's a comforter I have my eye on that also offers a duvet cover (separately, of course).

Can I put the duvet cover over the comforter, or does the comforter have to be much smaller for the cover to fit properly?

I guess I'm asking, are the blankets/comforters that go INSIDE the duvet--smaller and usually plain white? 

I've never done a duvet before.  Only reason why I want a duvet cover is because I'd like to protect the actual comforter (grandsons!) and will only have to wash the duvet cover.

Hope this makes sense

Honored Contributor

Re: Duvet cover OVER comforter question

[ Edited ]

I put my duvet cover over a comforter I bought years ago. It's not made to go inside a duvet, but it does. I live in Central Texas and it's only cold enough for a comforter 2-3 months of the year, so I saw no need to buy a duvet when I already had a comforter and just wanted to change the look.

Honored Contributor

@ChynnaBlue wrote:

I put my duvet cover over a comforter I bought years ago. It's not made to go inside a duvet, but it does. I live in Central Texas and it's only cold enough for a comforter 2-3 months of the year, so I saw no need to buy a duvet when I already had a comforter and just wanted to change the look.

Thanks for answering!

Hope this doesn't sound stupid, but they sell 'duvets'?  I've never seen one (I don't think). 

But somehow I imagine it to be just a plain white or natural colored *puff* or comforter.

I guess since I've already bought the comforters, I was hoping I could buy the duvet covers to protect them.  And I'd only need wash the cover instead of the whole comforter.

Trusted Contributor

Yes, you are correct. A duvet is similar to a comforter but it is plain. It can be filled with feathers or fiber. Usually they have stitching - many time squares - that isolate whatever the filling is so it doesn't move around as much.