Honored Contributor

Re: Duvet cover OVER comforter question

@Kachina624 wrote:

The comforter and duvet should be about the same size.  I'd think long and hard before investing much in a duvet.  I hate the darn things because they make a bed look like a rumpled mess.  I had one; couldn't get rid of it fast enough. 

I totally agree with this! They never look like the pictures in the magazines or on the packaging, unless the bed is never used (like a guest room). They get very rumpled and sloppy looking, in my opinion. 

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

@Kachina624 et al--

I realize the duvet cover is thin and *empty*.  I figured they actually sold *duvets*--which would be just a plain comforter-like *filler*.  Something to put inside the duvet cover.

I've never done duvets/duvet covers before. 

It would be for our (young) grandsons' beds, that they would only sleep in them on weekends, or a week here and a week there.

I already bought the comforters and love them.  Don't want to have to wash them every time the kids leave, I thought I'd cover it with a duvet cover (exact same pattern--wouldn't matter if it did show through). 

So all I had to do was take duvet cover off and wash that.

ETA:  the duvet covers are the EXACT same measurement as the comforter.  Was thinking it would be too tight.  Not one inch to spare.

Respected Contributor

@Lucky Charm

Posted before on " duvets ".  Besides making the bed look " messy " they add weight on top.

if you are concerned for the weekend youngsters' use, why not just place the next size up sheet so it creates an extra deep " cuff " over the top third of the comforter ?  The extra length can be folded over itself when not needed in between their visits.

HTH

We make a living by what we get. We make a life by what we give.
Sir Winston Churchill
Esteemed Contributor