Respected Contributor

Drawer-type Microwaves Built-in

Anyone have any experience and opinion about these microwaves that are popular now in kitchen redesigns? Some have drawer slide out. I am needing kitchen redo and like concept. DH noticed that it would be difficult to wipe out since it’s usually lower and harder to see its ceiling. I gave to admit he seems to have a point. Thanks for guidance.
Valued Contributor

Re: Drawer-type Microwaves Built-in

I have NO first hand experience.  I do not think I would like it though personally.  My main use is for reheating my coffee and I can't imagine sliding a cup of liquid in and out in a drawer.  I would also think the controls would be hard to see I wouldn't want to bend over everytime I needed to punch buttons.

Respected Contributor

If it ever needs to be removed for repair would that be a problem?

And the problem I will have....I had my kitchen totally redesigned and had a undermount shelf added for a specific size of a GE Profile microwave which was available for years.  Two years after my remodel, GE discontinued that size even though according to kitchen designers it was their "go to" selection for people who wanted smaller microwaves with the built in look.

When it dies I am going to have a hard time finding a microwave to fit.

Highlighted
Esteemed Contributor

It doesn’t seem practical to me.It may not be tall enough to hold certain items like coffee mugs & casserole dishes.

Esteemed Contributor

I moved into a new home, we built and I got this kind of microwave. I love it. I had such reservations but I love it. My builder said it’s easy to remove and replace. The only thing is sometimes when you heat a bag of veggies or whatever that need to stand not lay it’s a tight fit. But honestly it’s awesome. I don’t worry about removing a hot item above me, I lift it out. It seems safer to me. What ever you decide enjoy your new kitchen when done. ❤️

Esteemed Contributor