Do you create things for your home?

Any kind of creating at all?  

Honored Contributor

Re: Do you create things for your home?

I've knitted afghans and pillow covers.

Honored Contributor

Dust and clutter.

" You are entitled to your opinion. But you are not entitled to your own facts."
Daniel Patrick Moynihan
Trusted Contributor

Yes, I do quite a bit of "creating" around the house.  I sew a lot of home decorating things, curtains, pillows and slipcovers.  I also do some faux painting with pretty good results.  I started painting old furniture about 20 years ago.  Old stuff that needs sprucing up, or things my husband finds at yard sales or even on the curb.  I started with doing things with floral motifs on the doors or drawers. I ;enjoy having different painted pieces and different antiquing glazes.

I've done a little marble-izing tops of dressers and tables.  I've done some faux bricks on a couple of interior walls.  I even did some brick painting on our old, stained, cracked patio in our previous house.  Boy, let me tell you that was a nightmare to do!

I've dabbled in just about everything, and I still like to do things for the house.  I used to sew a lot of my clothes too when I worked, but oddly, when I retired 20 years ago I lost my interest in sewing clothes.  I keep thinking I will get back into it, but I haven't so far.

Sprucing up the house is the one thing I still like to do, but at my age I've been doing a lot less than I used to..not that I can't, I just don't have the incentive.

Honored Contributor

@blueroses47   How cool, you're one talented lady.  

Trusted Contributor

@qualitygal wrote:

@blueroses47   How cool, you're one talented lady.  

I'm not so talented...it's just something I have always liked to do.  Sometimes I laugh and say I"m jack of all trades, master of none.