Respected Contributor

Do You Filter Your Water?

[ Edited ]

I have a 3 water filters in my house.

-There is a water filtration system with the water softener in the basement.

-Under the kitchen sink, I have another water filtration system.

-The new refrigerator I have has a water filter (& does a great job) and an air filter.

I'm so intimidated by some home maintenance tasks bc I'm not good at them. Today, the filters under the sink that I changed were dripping. I could only imagine that I'd have to turn the kitchen faucet off until I got a hold of a plumber.

Instead, I redid the filters' replacement process and everything was working fine. Phew! (& knock on wood)

I moved into a new house 9 months ago, so some things are new to me here.

Frankly, I feel like such a failure when I can't figure out how to do something. Things like assembling anything, figuring out a new thermostat, replacing ink in a new printer (I did that today, too), tasks that are sometimes considered "simple" simply make me feel like a loser.

This isn't a new phenomenon as I get older; nope, I've always felt this way. In school, I was intimidated by sports.

There are reasons I filter my water. In the early 1990's my sibling's family got cryptosporidium from water in Milwaukee County. I lived a distance from there, but one day I came home & there was a red warning sign on my front door that said Do Not Use the Water! I turned on the sink, & it was brown raw sewage. Ew. I drove to a friend's house 40 miles away that had a private well & stayed there a week. My friend tested the well water later that year, and it failed bc it had other contaminants.

So even if I shed a few tears trying to change the water filters, I will continue to have water filtration systems & change water filters.

My sibling's family only drinks bottled water.