Respected Contributor

Re: Considering bringing a new pet into my home.

I wouldn't bring another pet into the home, not even an older dog. Your dog is the center of attention right now. Dogs get jealous like kids.

Trusted Contributor

I've been doing rescue work for 12 years. I've seen it all. There are absoluty no hard and fast rules about bringing another dog into the house. Nobody who has responded here has had any experience with your situation. They only say they wouldn't do it. While I wouldn't bring a puppy Into the house, I would consider an older dog through a rescue to see if it works out.
Valued Contributor

On 3/25/2015 Justina rae said:

My inclination would be to rescue an older, mellow dog. I would also not just bring one home but bring your dog to the shelter to see if she has an affinity for the particular dog you've decided upon.

ITA!!

Fighting for them.( formerly EMTHeart)
https://www.facebook.com/ChicagoAnimalCareandControl/?hc_ref=ARQABXWGU0QxJ8S0etv9UWoAqEOZu1NXSKeSB0FeztlSRyGYWx17U1XqY_nz92D_IGQ

Super Contributor

On 3/25/2015 AGV said: ShellBell, I'm having such a hard time with my baby getting older. When I think about it, I cry. She is a member of my family. My DH thinks it would be best for me to go ahead and get another dog, but I have the same concerns that you have.

Glad I'm not the only one. I honestly don't know what I will do when my baby leaves me, I love him so, so much.

He's been an only dog since he was 8 weeks old, and he's 10 now. He loves being a super catered to only pup, and I wouldn't think of doing anything to disrupt that.

Valued Contributor

I so understand as our big boy will be 15 next month, and is having problems with his hips. I had to ask the vet to let me know when it is time, because I will pretend he's fine. We have decided to wait until he's gone to get new dog as he is not that social and deserves all our attention. Makes me cry, too.
Trusted Contributor

On 3/25/2015 Justina rae said: