Honored Contributor

COZY TINY APARTMENT LIVING ROOM

It's Brandy Jackson again, this time with her ideas about her living room.  Back story:  She's a Phoenix wedding photographer by trade, but I would call her an "instinctive", atmosphere-driven, decorator.  Fun to see her space and hear her explain her choices:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tfUDuGKe8KE

It's funny, b/c she and her husband seem to live in a very small, one bedroom apartment-- there's not even a dining table, as far as one can tell. 

But her style is sort of "urban loft".   Curated, one of a kind pieces, almost all neutrals, lots of ancient wood and vintage, mixed with modern, and soft coziness.  European touches.  Oh, and big plants.  But because she is quite selective, the apartment doesn't look crammed or cluttered.  The shorthand for the type of style she's evolved is the "Restoration Hardware" look.

Anyway, lots of her tips are good for those of us with different styles, too--  like only get what you love, and do without till you find that.  Love her tip about linen drop-cloth curtains!  And I completely agree with her about soft, squishy pillows and hiding the original ones that come with the sofa, ha.

I share her reverence for old, crusty wood (look at that giant dough bowl), and texture of all kinds.  She likes NO color though, on either walls or decor, and I like soft muted 'off-colors' on walls, but more neutral accessories.  Still, I can always learn from people with well-thought out aesthetics, whether similar to mine or not.

Honored Contributor

Re: COZY TINY APARTMENT LIVING ROOM

[ Edited ]

I appreciate all home decor posts and the time folks take to post them. That said and with all due respect, I'm going to try to remember her name so I can avoid opening any more of her rather verbose videos going forward. 

In my pantry with my cupcakes...
Honored Contributor