Valued Contributor

Re: Why Some Love the Louis Vuitton Speedy Handbag

[ Edited ]

I have gone through my Louis Vuitton stage but now I'm over it and am left with some very expensive handbags that I no longer use. I graduated from the cotton-coated monogram and moved onto the leather styles, all of which have been mothballed until I don't know when.  What a waste.

Honored Contributor

@stevieb wrote:

The dilemma for me, were I to opt at some point for another Speedy in one configuration or another, is whether to go the extra mile for the strap. Looking at the LV site, and unless I'm misunderstanding, it appears the bags crafted with the strap are over four hundred dollars more simply because of the strap and frankly, yes, that does seem more than a bit rich. As for adding a strap to an existing Speedy, or for that matter, a future one, the problem is that where it would have to be attached, I think, would make carrying the bag on the shoulder a bit awkward, and would be far from ideal. Still, it is an option.

I agree regarding the strap and the last strap I purchased around 2006 and it cost roughly $280 so it isn't a stretch to think that they are running $400 today.  I remember back then that LV was upping the prices for their bags (all styles and accessories) about every 3 - 6 months for quite some time!)  The straps have to be attached on the handle ring on each side.  So it would attach to the outside of the ring  on one side and then you'd attach to the opposite side on the other side.  I didn't find it ackward (for me) nor did I find the strap too thin for my shoulder even when the bag was loaded.  But some ladies do.....    

*~"Never eat more than you can lift......" Miss Piggy~*
Highlighted
Honored Contributor

@Tinkrbl44 wrote:

@1Professor wrote:

@Graydoxiechick wrote:

Most don't have the money to spend on a purse that you can buy a small car with.

@Graydoxiechick