Valued Contributor

I hope some of you can help me. I have some Doony's from the 80's/90's and the leather is still great. I just bought (from the Q) a D&B Saffiano purse. I am very surprised at the leather, it doesn't smell like leather and it seems like it is bonded to cardboard. The purse is too expensive to keep when I am so unhappy with it. My old Doony's are pebble leather (I think) which I remember being the only choice. Is Saffiano leather always like this?  The vendor and host led me to believe it was a superior leather which is clearly not the case with my purse.  All comments are appreciated. 

Honored Contributor

I'm no leather expert but Saffiano leather reminds me of the cheap vinyl from which a Walmart handbag would be made.  I don't care for it.  The first time I saw it, I would have sworn it was plastic.  The people who like it seems to really love it saying it's durable, easy to clean, lightweight, etc.  Dooney makes bags using other, more recognizable leathers like pebble and Florentine which is smooth so don't give up on them.  Just chose another bag and avoid the Saffiano like I do.

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Trusted Contributor

@Raider Fan  hi I only have one saffiano leather handbag - a zip zip satchel and the leather is very different than pebble leather or florentine. I dont think it feels like plastic at all. But I agree it's not liked by everybody. Since you're used to the older styles I think you would love another bag in pebble leather or florentine.

Honored Contributor

You probably have the All Weather leather. Saffiano is what it is, either you like it or you don't. 

Don't Change Your Authenticity for Approval
Trusted Contributor

@Raider Fan