Respected Contributor

what's your favorite fertilizer?

For all-purpose, I use chicken manure. Years ago when I was an acolyte of Cisco Morris, he used to praise alfalfa meal and it was ok but...for some reason I switched to chicken manure and it works a lot better...faster, I guess. When I used alfalfa meal it seemed like it took forever to have an effect. Not so with chicken manure; my plants come up sooner and stronger and just plain prettier (I grow mostly flowers).

For acid-loving plants, I use Viracid.

Respected Contributor

Re: what's your favorite fertilizer?

[ Edited ]

I add chicken manure to my 2 raised beds before I plant in the spring. Monthly I add fish emulsion fertilizer. I also use organic tomato fertilizer containing calcium to ward off blossom end rot ( still get it a little). My gardenis organic.

QVC Customer Care
Esteemed Contributor

For garden beds and shrubs/trees, hands down it is Espoma Plant Tone.  I have been using it since the early 1980s.  100% organic and really helps the tilth of the soil.

I also use my own compost and will occasionally add greensand (also Espoma label) but it is expensive.

For containers?  Hands down, fish emulsion, though I do supplement with the old Peters now Jack's Classic 20-20-20 and sometimes Miracle Gro for tomatoes (high in potash, good for geraniums but in general a nice change of "diet" for my plants).

I don't fertlize heavily.  Instead I let leaves fall and decompose and let clover grow in the lawn.  Some things i like to boost, however.  Just part of the enjoyable gardening rituals.

Cogito ergo sum
Trusted Contributor

For general purpose I like Milorganite. All organic and non burning. It’s a granular fertilizer that can be tossed around everywhere. Available at Lowes. Inexpensive and large bag lasts a long time. For container annuals I like Miracle Grow.
Esteemed Contributor