Esteemed Contributor

? about when to bring plants indoors

I am new at this so I have no idea what I am doing.   I have several basil and rosemary plants in containers out in my backyard.   The temperatures at night are going down to the the high 50's or high 40's.  When should I bring my plants indoors?  TIA

Respected Contributor

Re: ? about when to bring plants indoors

I remember having to do that back north. Funny down here that I bring some things in, like a hanging fern,when a tropical storm is coming. 

Trusted Contributor

I live on LI and have already brought in a couple of my plants.  You might want to bring in what you have.  If it gets especially warm again, you can put them back outside during the day.  I brought in my aloe plants the other day even though our temps only went down to the fifties at night.  We're supposed to get a cold spell this week, so I will probably bring in all my plants to be safe.  I have a lily, a dish garden and a Christmas cactus in planters.  I also have a lot of coleus in my garden that I haven't figured out yet what to do with.  They're huge and I hate to lose them, but I don't really have room in my house for all of them.

Trusted Contributor

@Boehm Collector  You can always Google the plants' hardiness levels - it will tell you the lowest temperature they can tolerate. 

F/N/A luvstogarden
Respected Contributor

Before the first frost, so watch the tempertures.  If the plant is under a roof, or otherwise sheltered from the elements, you have more time. 

-- pro-aging --

Rochester, New York
Honored Contributor

Most of the plants I bring in are tropicals, so I consider 50 to be the lowest temp for them.  Many of mine go in the garage and that is the lowest temp I try to maintain for them there when we have a really cold snap.  For herbs it's probably closer to frost.

Super Contributor