Honored Contributor

Little Grapette - a freebie.DSCF1896.JPG

Honored Contributor

Re: My Daylilies

[ Edited ]

@RedHeadedWench  Did you ever find the name of the grower for this Daylily? Smiley Happy  

Pink.jpg

Esteemed Contributor

I don't mean to intrude on this wonderful Daylily thread, but would like to know if I can plant my recently received Daylily bulbs in containers.

We had to have emergency sewer work done in and through our front yard, so I cannot plant them there now as planned.

Just need to know if containers are OK and, if so, how tall should the containers be.

Thanks so much!

Esteemed Contributor

I realize this is an old thread but daylilies are here!  He shows the daylilies on TV in containers.  I just planted some and they are about 4-8 inches high.

I put mine in double containers (10") to protect them from the hot sun on our 90 degree days, (read this on the net).  This is my first year trying them.  

I would think you would need to feed them often.  Good luck!

Esteemed Contributor

@Zhills wrote:

I realize this is an old thread but daylilies are here!  He shows the daylilies on TV in containers.  I just planted some and they are about 4-8 inches high.

I put mine in double containers (10") to protect them from the hot sun on our 90 degree days, (read this on the net).  This is my first year trying them.  

@Zhills

Expressing my ignorance here: by "double containers," are you referring to a special containers which have an inner lining?  I've planted in smaller containers, but with the day lilies will need larger containers and don't know about "double" containers.  Would appreciate further information.  Thanks so much.

Esteemed Contributor

A double container is just a pot inside the same sized pot.  

20161003A.jpg

Mine are 10" pots.  That is the size Phillip used on the show.  The space protects the plants from the hot sun.  

Here in Florida, a pot sitting in direct sun when it is 90 degrees will damage the roots of plants.