Frequent Contributor

M82259 Phillip Watson Blueberries

I received my plant April 2nd and needless to say since I live in MI it wasn't suppose to be delivered til end of May.  We had snow and rain on Saturday

and the same is predicted for this Saturday.  So, what am I suppose to do with this plant for the next two months?.  Do I  return or what happens?

They came from Cottage Farms delivery so I don't know if they wanted them shipped out earlier or what.

Respected Contributor

Re: M82259 Phillip Watson Blueberries

[ Edited ]

@Salreg Plant it in a pot indoors, then transfer it. I'm not an expert gardener, and maybe others here have more advice, but I'd think that would be ok.  I would also contact PW or CF customercare for advice.

I bought a CF blueberry plant many years ago, about 12...never had luck with it. But that's me...you may do excellent with it.

I live in CT...had it in a pot outdoors for a few years, on my deck, since I'm second floor condo, no yard. Said they should get berries by 2nd year, (in the pot) but none ever came, then to transfer to ground. I don't think my pot was large enough, they always advise a "whiskey barrel", too big for my deck, so I had it in a 15" across, 15" deep pot. It grew and leafed, but never got a ripened berry, only a few green ones.

When it was time to replant in the ground, I planted it at my mom's, where it grew more, and got some berries, but the rabbits always ate them before they had a chance to ripen. My mom, not a gardener and not that mobile then, couldn't care for it where I had to put it for sun, so there was that too.

Was not the right plant for my situation. And of course I was "sold" because they showed it in a pot with tons of berries, which I was expecting to happen, but didn't for me.

I wish you luck with yours! 🫐🫐🫐

Honored Contributor