Honored Contributor

Does anyone have experience gardening in a Kiddie Pool?  I have one that I'd like to plant some herbs, radishes and flowers but unsure how to proceed.

Respected Contributor

I just did an internet search and a bunch of articles and videos came up. 

Looks fun, good luck!

Respected Contributor

As a former container gardener, I think the idea is brilliant!

I assume you'd have to drill some holes in the bottom of the kiddie pool for drainage, of course

Denise
Honored Contributor

I'm no expert, but be sure you get one deep enough.

You need at least 14" deep.

I use buckets and a raised container but my next adventure will be with a small fire ring.  I found this picture on the internet.   

fire ring garden.jpg

Esteemed Contributor

I would just make holes in the bottom and plant whatever you’d like.  I had this Elephant ear plant on the ground but kept getting mowed over so I got this little tub at Dollar General for $10, made holes and they’ve been growing really well. 

1E99C55C-45D7-4C74-B379-76C03883C3B4.jpeg

Super Contributor

I have a Kiddie Pool Garden on my deck. I'm rusty, but will try to insert image. 

This is when I first got it all set up. I have cherry tomatoes and bush cukes in grow bags.

Kiddie Pool Garden01 1.jpg

Today.....It grew like crazy and the squirrels wanted to get into it, so I got some netting to cover it. I uncover it during the day. It's keeping the squirrels out so far, but outgrowing my rig again....LOL

Kiddie Pool Garden.jpg

Still Tabbycat ~~ Less is More ~~
Respected Contributor

Those look really nice, I like the idea. 

My garden is so big that I'm having a hard time figuring out how to cover it. The chicken wire is 3 ft but the tomatoes are 6 ft and the corn is getting up there too. I had bought enough wire to cover the top but that won't work now. 

any suggestions? So far nothing is bothering the veggies but the tomatoes haven't turned red yet.

garden 6-20-2020 002.JPG

it is taller now...