Honored Contributor

How do you get birds to move into the bird houses?

We had a friend give us several bird houses he had made.  They had tiny holes that no birds seemed to like, so we gave up on them.  Then we bought a cottage and that property had bird houses on poles with those same tiny holes.  Not occupied in the past three years.  Birds around here seem to like the eaves of houses much more. 

Honored Contributor

Re: How do you get birds to move into the bird houses?

Invite the Avian Welcome Wagon to come and call?

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Honored Contributor

@depglass   I'm no expert but when it comes to birds it's not really different than people - location, location, location.  If the entrance to the birdhouse is too small for a bird, it won't bother.  If the entrance to a birdhouse is too large you risk predatory birds snatching the babies of the birdhouse occupant.

When you say tiny... how tiny?

I've had this birdhouse hanging off the soffit of my attached garage (over the patio) for a couple of years.  I removed the decorative flower box and installed a perch in it's place.

Sparrows live in it.

Image result for yellow wren hanging birdhouse

There are many elements: wind, fire, water
But none quite like the element of surprise
Honored Contributor

As a rule Sparrows and Starlings will nest in anything they can fit in. Keeping them out is a far bigger problem. Something you should be aware of is that some birdhouses have pieces of black painted wood blocking the entry to keep birds out. Those birdhouses are built to be purely decorative. To a casual observer they appear to have a real hole, but the black piece of wood glued inside blocks access. If your birdhouses have real, open holes, and you're not picky on what kind of birds you get, enlarging the holes will have them filled quickly.

Fly!!! Eagles!!! Fly!!!
Honored Contributor

@depglass   Here's a good article about the size of an entrance for specific types of birds.