Trusted Contributor

Are there any succulents/hens and chicks experts here?

I'm redoing my garden to incorporate more succulents and other xeriscape compatable plants.  I added some hens and chicks to the front border.

Last year I had put in a beautiful H&C with a nice spiky middle "flower."  This year the main "hen" is gone and there are only chicks there.  Is there a way to encourage these plants to regrow the pretty mother section?

Thank you!

Super Contributor

Re: Are there any succulents/hens and chicks experts here?

I am no expert but have fond memories of my childhood garden filled with hens and chicks.  This is what I recall.  A blooming hen on a hen and chicks plant is often referred to as a rooster. The individual rosettes will begin to elongate and lengthen vertically when it is time to produce flowers. 

Removing the budding stem can’t save the rosette. The blooms on hens and chicks plants are a part of a monocarpic process. That means they flower, seed, and then die. There is nothing to be done about it other than to enjoy them while they last and look forward to regrowth the following season.  From what I think you are describing, they just have not begun the natural growing process which depending on where you live is summertime.
Honored Contributor

I'm no expert with these either but a few years ago, I found a few small pots of hens/chicks on the sale table at my grocery store--they looked pretty rough but I bought them, and put them in different pots and just let them go---hardly remembered to give them a drink, left them in the freezing weather and those things are still amongst the living---they get that long flower stalk and I have even taken the babies off and threw them on a patch of dirt and they grow just fine. You can separate them and re plant them----virtually indestructible

Respected Contributor