Frequent Contributor

Anyone else having trouble with Cottage Farm tomatoes?

I bought Cottage Farm tomatoes in 2018 and they were great.  I bought Cottage Farm tomatoes in 2019 and the plants all got a fungus and the plants died.  I bought Cottage Farm heirloom tomatoes this year and all I am getting is tons of green leaves and stems!  I have about 6 tomatoes on 4 different plants and they stay on the plants and remain green for months.....no ripe tomatoes yet!.  A few I had to throw away because they got brown on the bottom.  I am so disappointed!  I've been growing tomatoes for 30 years and this year's crop is awful.  Had to go to the farmers market to get good tomatoes to eat.  Forget it, next year I'll go back to Home Depot or Lowe's and get theirs again.

Anyone else having such trouble?  

Janet in Georgia
Honored Contributor

Re: Anyone else having trouble with Cottage Farm tomatoes?

@GeorgiaJanet   Are you planting them in the same place year after year?  I've heard this shouldn't be done as there's a fungus or virus that they'll pick up.  Perhaps @JustJazzmom could help as she's a Master Gardner.

New Mexico☀️Land Of Enchantment
Frequent Contributor

No I've been planting them in large pots.  I really scrubbed out the pots with Dawn last year so the fungus wouldn't return, so I'm not battling fungus this year, thank goodness.  I plant them with Miracle Gro potting soil and have fertilized them properly.  I just don't know why I can't get very many tomatoes and why they won't turn red.  They get plenty of sun, but not too much sun.  It is a puzzle. 

@QVC watcher   Are you planting them in the same place year after year?  I've heard this shouldn't be done as there's a fungus or virus that they'll pick up.  Perhaps @JustJazzmom could help as she's a Master Gardner.

Janet in Georgia
Honored Contributor

Anyone else in your neighborhood planting tomatoes in pots and having success?