Honored Contributor

Re: interesting J Jill observation

Years ago when I worked in retail, when an item went on sale, we took a red pen through the original price, then wrote the sale price.  We never used percent off signs.  Once an item was marked down, it never went back up in price.  Then again,  items were on sale only at the end of the season.  While it seemed like a good system, there were "thieves" who used their own red pens to change the prices on full price items.  This was why it was important for all clerks to know the merchandise and also know how to read the printed ticket. (which indicated when the item was received in stock)

Today sales and prices change from day to day.  If something is on sale today, it may not be on sale tomorrow, but it could be on sale Thursday. Just wait.

Respected Contributor

Re: interesting J Jill obs."ervation

I think the fluctuating prices day to day also can create ill will.

Back to Talbots.  Last week they had a flash sale with additional percentage off their markdowns plus 10% off for their credit card holders.  Their website was problematic to say the least.  So they reoffered the flash sale the next day to "make up for the website problems."  Except this time they only offered an additional 5% off for use of their credit card. 

Yes, of course, they can do whatever they want, but it annoyed me enough to not make the purchase I had been unable to complete due to their website problems.

Oh well.

Maybe I'm just a very unusual shopper, but when I see an item priced higher than it was sold for on another date, I'm just not going to buy it.

Honored Contributor

@Isobel Archer

ITA... It is so irritating that I will not purchase at a higher price... no way, no how!

~Have a Kind Heart, Fierce Mind, Brave Spirit~
Honored Contributor

@hennypenny wrote:

I had the same experience yesterday. I went to Macy's because I had an online notice of a huge sale. I wanted to see the products before buying.