Trusted Contributor

@lolakimono

I am trying to convince myself that I don't need any new clothes this year.  Or jewelry.  Or purses.  Or shoes.  I watched your series when you did this several years ago.  What helped you the most in shopping your closet?  What were your motivators?  Are there any web sites that you found helpful?

Thank you in advance.

Honored Contributor

Re: Your advice please Lola!

@Tennesseegal  I don't remember reading the organized way of going about curtailing over-buying, but I've been working on that for a few years now.

I started with jewelry.  I was feeling overwhelmed by having so much to choose from, and I found myself wearing the same few pieces way too often.  I started by setting aside time to sort and categorize, organizing some part of what I already owned into weekly sets.  Then I'd choose from one of those sets for a week instead of from the things I'd been overusing.  Some weeks I'd switch back to my favorites, but I kept pushing myself to choose more creatively.

Sometimes I did that sorting while I was watching a jewelry show, and when I saw a piece I liked on air, I'd look for something already in the house which was similar.  Of course, there was almost always something that worked.  I made it through more than 3 years without buying another new piece of jewelry!

Esteemed Contributor

@lolakimono has been an inspiration for me and I'm sure she'll give you some fabulous tips. 😊

For me, the best thing I could do was organize my closet.  I  put all of the short sleeve tops together, the sleeveless tops together, skirts together, etc. Then I grouped them by color.  My closet was a disorganized mess, but that simple (yet time consuming) effort to get organized really helped me see that I had some great pieces and didn't really need to do any more shopping for a while.  I went from "I don't have a thing to wear" to "Oh, my, which one should I choose?"

Respected Contributor